Viaplay Cup draw: Teams learn identity of group stage opposition

The group stage kicks off the competitive season on July 15.

Viaplay Cup group stage draw: SPFL teams learn first opposition SNS Group

The draw for the Viaplay Cup group stage has been completed, with teams learning who they will be facing in their first competitive matches of the season.

Scotland’s European representatives are given a bye to the knockout stages, with Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen, Hearts and Hibs all to join in the last 16.

The 37 remaining SPFL teams are joined in the group stage by Highland League champions Brechin City and Lowland League winners The Spartans, along with Cowdenbeath, who were relegated from League Two in 2022.

Teams were split into five seeding pots based on final league placings and eight groups drawn. Group stage fixtures on the weekend of July 15/16, with further matchdays on July 18/19, July 22/23, July 25/26 and July 29/30.

The eight group winners and three best runners-up will progress to the next round.

Viaplay Cup group stage draw in full

Group A – St Johnstone, Ayr United, Alloa Athletic, Stirling Albion, Stenhousemuir

Group B – Dundee United, Partick Thistle, Falkirk, Peterhead, The Spartans

Group C – Livingston, Hamilton Academicals, Cove Rangers, Clyde, Brechin City

Group D – Ross County, Greenock Morton, FC Edinburgh, Kelty Hearts, Stranraer

Group E – Dundee, Inverness Ct, Airdrieonians, Dumbarton, Bonnyrigg Rose

Group F – Kilmarnock, Raith Rovers, Dunfermline, Annan Athletic, Albion Rovers

Group G – Motherwell, Queen’s Park, Queen of the South, East Fife, Elgin City

Group H – St Mirren, Arbroath, Montrose, Forfar Athletic, Cowdenbeath

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code
Posted in