Lewis Ferguson wins prestigious Midfielder of the Year award in Italy

The 24-year-old has captained Bologna to fourth place and on the verge of their first ever Champions League campaign.

Scotland and Bologna star Lewis Ferguson wins Midfielder of the Year award in Italy SNS Group

Scotland international Lewis Ferguson has won a prestigious award in Italy after an impressive season in Serie A.

The former Aberdeen and Hamilton star has been named Midfielder of the Year after captaining Bologna to fourth place in the Italian top-flight this season.

Previous winners of the award include Xavi, Paul Pogba, Andres Iniesta, Yaya Toure and Daniele De Rossi.

The 24-year-old, who has scored 6 goals in 31 appearances this campaign, was presented with the Bulgarelli No 8 Award on Monday.

He joined Bologna from the Dons in 2022 and scored seven goals in his debut season before being handed the armband by manager Thiago Motta.

However his season was cut short after picking up a knee injury that has also ruled him out for this summer’s European Championships.

He will be hoping to return early next season to help his side in their first ever Champions League campaign if they can finish the current campaign in the top five.

They are currently four points ahead of Atlanta in fifth and Roma in sixth with three games remaining but have a tough run of fixtures with games against AC Milan, Juventus and Genoa still to come.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code