Euro 2024: Steve Clarke announces provisional 28-man squad for Germany

Liverpool's teenage forward Ben Doak is a surprise inclusion in the squad.

Scotland manager Steve Clarke has named the players he has put his trust in for this summer’s European Championships.

Clarke has picked 28-players in a provisional squad that will be cut to 26 before the June 7 deadline.

Liverpool youngster Ben Doak has been called up for the first-time despite only playing a handful of games for Jurgen Klopp’s side this season.

The big question marks were over what goalkeepers would be picked and the right-backs that would be chosen.

Clarke has decided to pick four keepers with Angus Gunn, Craig Gordon, Liam Kelly and Zander Clark all included.

Celtic’s Anthony Ralston and Bristol City’s Ross McCrorie, who has never been capped, are the options at right-back with Everton’s Nathan Patterson and Brentford’s Aaron Hickey both injured.

Bologna’s Lewis Ferguson has also missed out through injury.

James Forrest returns to the squad for the first time since the last Euros after rolling back the years to end Celtic’s title-winning campaign in top-form.

Rangers midfielder Ryan Jack has also been included despite not playing since early March when he came off the bench for the last 15 minutes against Benfica in the Europa League,.

Scotland will travel to Germany to take part in the tournament being held across the country from June 14.

The national team will play in the opening game when they take on the hosts in Munich before games against Switzerland and Hungary as they look to reach the knockout stages for the first time.

Scotland squad in full

  • Angus Gunn (Norwich City)
  • Zander Clark (Hearts)
  • Craig Gordon (Hearts)
  • Liam Kelly (Motherwell)
  • Anthony Ralston (Celtic)
  • Ross McCrorie (Bristol)
  • Jack Hendry (Al Ettifaq)
  • Ryan Porteous (Watford)
  • Kieran Tierney (Arsenal)
  • Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forest)
  • John Souttar (Rangers)
  • Grant Hanley (Norwich City)
  • Liam Cooper (Leeds United)
  • Andrew Robertson (Liverpool)
  • Greg Taylor (Celtic)
  • Callum McGregor (Celtic)
  • John McGinn (Aston Villa)
  • Scott McTominay (Manchester United)
  • Billy Gilmour (Brighton)
  • Stuart Armstrong (Southampton)
  • Kenny McLean (Norwich City)
  • Ryan Jack (Rangers)
  • James Forrest (Celtic)
  • Ben Doak (Liverpool)
  • Ryan Christie (Bournemouth)
  • Che Adams (Southampton)
  • Lawrence Shankland (Hearts)
  • Lyndon Dykes (Queen’s Park Rangers)
STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code