Ange Postecoglou up for Best FIFA Men's Coach award after Celtic treble

The Australia is nominated for the prestigious award after a clean sweep of Scottish trophies.

Ange Postecoglou nominated for FIFA Men’s Coach of the Year award after Celtic treble SNS Group

Ange Postecoglou has been nominated for a prestigious award after leading Celtic to a domestic treble last season.

The Australian, now manager of Spurs, is in contention for world governing body FIFA’s Best Men’s Coach award as one of the most successful managers of the last year.

Postecoglou is on the shortlist alongside Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola, Inter Milan’s Simone Inzaghi, Napoli boss Luciano Spalletti and Barcelona’s Xavi.

With the exception of Inzaghi, who won two domestic cups and reached the Champions League final, all of the nominees won their domestic championships.

For Postecoglou, it was a second successive title at Celtic after arriving from Yokohama F Marinos in 2021. His side also won the League Cup and Scottish Cup in a memorable season.

The success saw Tottenham Hotspur identify the Celtic boss as the ideal candidate to improve their fortunes and Postecoglou left for London days after completing the treble.

FIFA’s website said he had made the shortlist for the award after his “swashbuckling style of play brought Celtic just the eighth domestic treble of the club’s history”.

FIFA also noted that Postecoglou won both Manager of the Year awards in Scotland and that Celtic’s 114-goal haul in the Premiership was a record in the post-war era.

Peter Gerhardsson, Jonatan Giraldez, Tony Gustavsson, Emma Hayes and Sarina Wiegman have been nominated for the Best Women’s coach award and the lists for the playing awards have also been revealed.

The Best Women’s Player will be chosen from: Aitana Bonmati, Linda Caicedo, Rachel Daly, Kadidiatou Diani, Caitlin Foord, Mary Fowler, Alex Greenwood, Jennifer Hermoso, Lindsey Horan, Amanda Ilestedt, Lauren James, Sam Kerr, Mapi Leon, Hinata Miyazawa, Salma Paralluelo and Keira Walsh.

Nominees for Best Men’s Player are: Julian Alvarez, Marcelo Brozovic, Kevin De Bruyne, Ilkay Gundogan, Erling Haaland, Rodri, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi, Victor Osimhen, Declan Rice and Bernardo Silva.

Members of the public can vote for the nominees through FIFA’s website.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code