Stephen Flynn reshuffles SNP frontbench team at Westminster

SNP Westminster leader says party has a renewed focus on the cost-of-living crisis, energy and economic growth.

Stephen Flynn unveils reshuffle of SNP frontbench team at Westminster House of Commons

Stephen Flynn has reshuffled his frontbench team in the House of Commons.

The SNP Westminster leader said the party was being put on an election footing, with a renewed focus on the cost-of-living crisis, energy and economic growth.

Among the key appointments is Drew Hendry, the MP for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey, taking over as economy spokesperson and Dave Doogan, the MP for Angus, being named energy spokesperson.

Amy Callaghan, MP for East Dunbartonshire, joins the frontbench as health spokesperson and Anum Qaisar, MP for Airdrie and Shotts, takes over as Levelling Up spokesperson.

Tommy Sheppard, MP for Edinburgh East, takes over as Scotland spokesperson.

Flynn said: “The SNP’s new frontbench team will pile pressure on the UK government to help families with the cost of living, whilst renewing the positive case for independence in Europe, and investment in Scotland’s enormous renewable energy potential, as the best route to securing strong and sustained economic growth.

“The Tories trashed the UK economy – and it’s increasingly clear the Tory-lite Labour Party is offering no change from the disastrous policies that got the UK into this mess.

“Under Sir Keir Starmer, they back Brexit, austerity cuts, and creeping privatisation of the NHS, which will take the UK down the path to long-term decline and hammer the incomes of families in Scotland.

“The SNP is the party with a plan to deliver strong economic growth – and reduce the cost of living. Scotland is an energy rich country with huge resources. By rejoining the EU, and investing in the renewable energy gold rush, we can build a wealthier, greener and fairer future.

“Over the coming months, my new team will continue to put the Westminster-made cost of living crisis at forefront of our work – and we will make the case that voting SNP is the only way to secure independence, boost the economy and deliver the real hope, and real change the public so badly deserve.”

Full list of the new SNP Westminster frontbench team

SNP Westminster Leader – Stephen Flynn
SNP Depute Westminster Leader – Mhairi Black
SNP Chief Whip – Owen Thompson
House of Commons Business spokesperson – Deidre Brock
Economy spokesperson – Drew Hendry
Levelling Up spokesperson – Anum Qaisar
Social Justice spokesperson – David Linden
Home Affairs spokesperson – Alison Thewliss
Justice and Immigration spokesperson – Chris Stephens
Attorney General spokesperson – Patricia Gibson
Europe and EU Accession spokesperson – Alyn Smith
Science, Innovation, Technology and Education spokesperson – Carol Monaghan
Scotland spokesperson – Tommy Sheppard
International Development Spokesperson – Anne McLaughlin
Foreign Affairs spokesperson – Brendan O’Hara
Women and Equalities spokesperson – Kirsten Oswald
Environment, Farming, Agriculture and Rural Affairs spokesperson – Steven Bonnar
Cabinet Office spokesperson – Kirsty Blackman
Business and Trade (N Ireland and Wales) spokesperson – Richard Thomson
Health spokesperson – Amy Callaghan
Transport spokesperson – Gavin Newlands
Energy Security and Net Zero spokesperson – Dave Doogan
Digital, Culture, Media and Sport spokesperson – John Nicolson
Defence spokesperson – Martin Docherty-Hughes

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code