Scotland name 12 uncapped players in squad for autumn tests

Gregor Townsend has selected a 42-man pool for matches with Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan.

Scotland name 12 uncapped players in squad for autumn tests SNS Group

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has named a 42-man squad for the Autumn Nations Series Tests against Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan.

Scotland’s full British and Irish Lions contingent involved in this summer’s South Africa tour feature, including captain Stuart Hogg, wing Duhan Van Der Merwe and half-backs Finn Russell and Ali Price.

Townsend has also selected 12 uncapped players, with that group featuring the likes of Ewan Ashman, Josh Bayliss, Dylan Richardson and Pierre Schoeman.

Scotland open their autumn campaign against Tonga on October 30 and end it against Japan three weeks later.

Other newcomers include Rory Darge, Luke Crosbie and a quartet of uncapped Glasgow Warriors backs in Rufus McLean, Jamie Dobie, Ross Thompson and Sione Tuipulotu.

“There have been some notable performances from both our home-based players and those at clubs outside of Scotland, which has enabled us as coaches to select a group which are playing well and will be motivated across the four games,” Townsend told

“We also feel that this is the right time to bring in some younger players, given their early-season form.

“They have created opportunities for themselves to represent their country, and we believe that they will thrive in the Test match environment.

“We face four tough matches in four weeks and Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan each present a different challenge and an opportunity to perform in front of our people at BT Murrayfield.

“It’s great to hear that we will now play Australia in front of a capacity crowd at BT Murrayfield, and it means a huge amount to the players to have this level of support.”

Scotland squad

Backs: M Bennett (Edinburgh), D Graham (Edinburgh), J Dobie (Glasgow Warriors), C Harris (Gloucester), A Hastings (Gloucester), S Hogg (Exeter), G Horne (Glasgow Warriors), D Hoyland (Edinburgh), S Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), H Jones (Harlequins), B Kinghorn (Edinburgh), D Van Der Merwe (Worcester), R McLean (Glasgow Warriors), A Price (Glasgow Warriors), F Russell (Racing 92), M Scott (Leicester), K Steyn (Glasgow Warriors), R Thompson (Glasgow Warriors), S Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors).

Forwards: E Ashman (Sale Sharks), J Bayliss (Bath), J Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), F Brown (Glasgow Warriors), L Crosbie (Edinburgh), R Darge (Glasgow Warriors), M Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Z Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), G Gilchrist (Edinburgh), N Haining (Edinburgh), R Harley (Glasgow Warriors), J Hodgson (Edinburgh), O Kebble (Glasgow Warriors), M McCallum (Glasgow Warriors), S McInally (Edinburgh), D Richardson (Cell C Sharks), J Ritchie (Edinburgh), S Skinner (Exeter), P Schoeman (Edinburgh), R Sutherland (Worcester), M Sykes (Edinburgh), G Turner (Glasgow Warriors), H Watson (Edinburgh).

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code