No Scottish refs at Euro 2024 as full official and VAR teams announced

UEFA have revealed the full list of referees and officials for this summer's European Championships.

No Scottish officials chosen for Euro 2024 as full referee and VAR teams announced SNS Group

UEFA has revealed the full list of referees for this summer’s European Championships with no Scottish officials making the cut.

European football’s governing body has appointed 90 match officials, including refs and VAR teams, from across the continent to take charge of games at the tournament being held in Germany.

As well as officials from the host country there will be representatives from several countries including England, Portugal, Romania, France, Italy, Switzerland, Sweden, Slovenia, Spain, Poland and Turkey.

No one from the SFA’s referee group has been chosen meaning the likes of Willie Collum, John Beaton, Don Robertson and Kevin Clancy will all miss out.

A total of 19 referees will officiate the 51 games between June and July with the rest of taking part as fourth officials and VAR officials.

Argentine ref Facundo Tello, together with his two assistants, will join the European group of officials as part of the co-operation between UEFA and the South American Football Confederation CONMEBOL.

This will be the second time a referee from outside Europe has officiated at the championships with a similar initiative held at Euro 2020.

Refereeing teams at each match will consist of a referee, two assistant referees, a fourth official, a reserve assistant referee at the stadium, and a team of three video match officials.

The preparation of the officials for will include a course for all referees, referee assistants and video match officials, which will take place in Frankfurt, Germany, in mid-May.

During the tournament referees, referee assistants and support referees will have their base camp in Frankfurt. The video match officials will be based in Leipzig, where during the matches they will operate from the International Broadcast Centre.

UEFA managing director of refereeing Roberto Rosetti said: “UEFA Euro 2024 is the pinnacle of European national team football with the best teams competing and that’s why we have selected the best referees to officiate these matches.

“All chosen referees have performed consistently to the highest standards in UEFA’s top competitions, and also in their domestic competitions.

“They have prepared exceptionally well to be in this position and we have full confidence in them to show their quality at the final tournament.”

Full list of referees:

Artur Soares Dias (Portugal)

Jesús Gil Manzano (Spain)

Marco Guida (Italy)

Istvan Kovacs (Romania)

Ivan Kruzliak (Slovakia)

François Letexier (France)

Danny Makkelie (Netherlands)

Szymon Marciniak (Poland)

Halil Umut Meler (Türkiye)

Glenn Nyberg (Sweden)

Michael Oliver (England)

Daniele Orsato (Italy)

Sandro Schärer (Switzerland)

Daniel Siebert (Germany)

Anthony Taylor (England)

Clément Turpin (France)

Slavko Vinčić (Slovenia)

Felix Zwayer (Germany)

Facundo Tello (Argentina)

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code