McCrorie and Oh handed starts as teams named for final Old Firm of season

Glasgow's big two meet for the sixth and final time this season.

McCrorie and Oh handed starts as teams named for final Old Firm of season SNS Group

Michael Beale and Ange Postecoglou have named their teams for the final Old Firm clash of the season.

And both managers have decided to make changes as they begin to look ahead to the future with the league title already in the bag for Celtic.

Robby McCrorie, Ridvan Yilmaz, Rabbi Matondo and Fashion Sakala all start for Rangers with Allan McGregor and Alfredo Morelos on the bench.

Meanwhile Alex Bernabei, Yuki Kobayashi, Liel Abada and HyeonGyu Oh all make the Hoops starting line-up as top scorer Kyogo Furuhashi drops to the bench.

Defensive mainstays Alistair Johnston and Cameron Carter-Vickers are out injured and first usual left-back Greg Taylor is among the subs, meaning Carl Starfelt is the only first choice starting defender in the line-up.

Glasgow’s big two clash at Ibrox on Saturday in the sixth meeting between the ancient rivals of the 2022/23 campaign.

Celtic have dominated the fixture with four wins and a draw from the previous five on their way to League Cup and Premiership glory, but Ibrox remains the only stadium in Scotland they haven’t tasted victory at this season with January’s game at the stadium ending in a 2-2 draw.

With the title wrapped up they are now only a win against Inverness CT in next month’s Scottish Cup final away from a treble.

Rangers on the other hand haven’t had a win against the Hoops since Beale took charge at the end of last year and will be desperate to give their fans something to cheer in what has been a disappointing season.

McCrorie, who played the last time Rangers beat Celtic in the league in the first derby clash of last season, makes his second Old Firm appearance as he plays between the sticks ahead of Allan McGregor.

The 25-year-old, who is yet to concede a goal in his three first team games, starts behind a back four of James Tavernier, Connor Goldson, John Souttar and Ridvan Yilmaz.

Nico Raskin, Ryan Jack and John Lundstram make up a midfield three with Todd Cantwell and Rabbi Matondo playing either side of Fashion Sakala.

Postecoglou starts with Joe Hart between the sticks and a back four of Anthony Ralston, Carl Starfelt, Yuki Kobayashi and Alex Bernabei.

Captain Callum McGregor is in midfield beside Reo Hatate and O’Riley and they will be supporting the front three of Jota, Hyeongyu Oh and Liel Abada.

Veteran winger James Forrest has returned from a long term injury and he is also on the bench beside the likes of Daizen Maeda and Tomoki Iwata.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code