Clarke names three uncapped players in Scotland Euro 2020 squad

The national team boss has made his final selection for the summer tournament.

Steve Clarke has named three uncapped players in his 26-man squad for the European Championships.

David Turnbull, Billy Gilmour and Nathan Patterson have all been given the nod by the national team boss as he finalised his selection for next month’s tournament.

Scotland face Czech Republic, England and Croatia in the group stage as the men’s team make a first appearance at a major finals since 1998.

Clarke’s group is primarily made up of players who helped the team qualify and have been part of recent internationals but, with UEFA having increased the squad size to 23 to 26, he has opted to give three emerging talents their chance.

There was disappointment for some though, with Aberdeen’s Andy Considine and Celtic’s Leigh Griffiths missing out. Norwich City’s Kenny McLean, Rangers midfielder Ryan Jack and Sheffield United’s Oli McBurnie were already ruled out through injury.

Wide attackers James Forrest and Ryan Fraser have both been included in the squad after recent injuries.

Clarke had said previously that the expanded squad could offer players the chance to experience a major tournament, hinting that he may look at younger players, and he has picked three Under-21 internationals who have shown progress this season.

Midfielder Turnbull has thrived at new club Celtic, establishing himself in the first team even as the club suffered a disappointing season overall. Former Rangers youth Gilmour has had a breakthrough at Chelsea, where he has impressed alongside international stars at Stamford Bridge.

Patterson emerged at Rangers when club captain James Tavernier was injured and seized his chance, showing defensive ability at right-back as well as catching the eye with his attacking contributions.

The squad will meet next week before flying to Spain for a training camp, which will also include trips to Portugal for a friendly against Netherlands and to Luxembourg for a final warm-up game.

STV News will provide coverage throughout the tournament, while two of Scotland’s group matches in June will be broadcast live on the channel.

Scotland Euro 2020 squad


Craig Gordon (Heart of Midlothian)
David Marshall (Derby County)
Jon McLaughlin (Rangers)


Nathan Patterson (Rangers)
Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell)
Andy Robertson (Liverpool)
Kieran Tierney (Arsenal)
Greg Taylor (Celtic)
Liam Cooper (Leeds United)
Grant Hanley (Norwich City
Declan Gallagher (Motherwell)
Scott McKenna (Aberdeen)
Jack Hendry (KV Oostende, on loan from Celtic)


Billy Gilmour (Chelsea)
Callum McGregor (Celtic)
Scott McTominay (Manchester United)
Stuart Armstrong (Southampton)
John McGinn (Aston Villa)
John Fleck (Sheffield United)
David Turnbull (Celtic)


James Forrest (Celtic)
Ryan Christie (Celtic)
Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United)
Lyndon Dykes (Queens Park Rangers)
Ché Adams (Southampton)
Kevin Nisbet (Hibernian)

More to follow…

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code