Laura Muir, Jemma Reekie and Josh Kerr named in GB squad for World Indoors

The trio will compete in front of a home crowd in Glasgow.

A trio of Scottish track stars have been included in the Great Britain and Northern Ireland squad for the World Athletics Indoor Championships in Glasgow next month.

Laura Muir, Jemma Reekie and Josh Kerr will all be in action in front of a home crowd when the prestigious event returns to Scotland.

UK Athletics has selected its best for the Championships, which take place at the Emirates Arena from March 1-3.

Kerr will travel to Glasgow to compete in the 3000m, having broken the world record over two miles in New York just a week ago.

Muir and Reekie both showed their form with gold medals at the UK Indoor Championships in Birmingham over the weekend.

Olympic silver medallist Muir won the 3000m with a time of eight minutes 58.80 seconds, while Reekie booked her place in Glasgow by taking gold in the 800m final with a time of 1:58.24.

Paula Dunn, Olympic head coach, said: “We are pleased to be announcing such a strong team for World Athletics Indoor Championships Glasgow 24, and I am looking forward to seeing how the team perform on the world stage.

“We had a thrilling National Championships where athletes secured their places for the team in Scotland, and it was fantastic to see a number of athletes stepping up when it counted.

“This is a really exciting squad that includes global medallists as well as athletes who will be hoping to make an impact on the world stage for the first time.

“Once World Athletics have finalised the final Road to Glasgow rankings later this week, those athletes who have the required ranking and have met the UKA requirements outlined in the selection policy will be announced, and we look forward to confirming our home championship team for next month.”

The Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for the World Athletics Indoor Championships, Glasgow, Scotland on the 1-3 March 2024:

Georgia Bell (Trevor Painter, Belgrave) – 1500m
Isabelle Boffey (Luke Gunn, Enfield and Haringey) – 800m
Molly Caudery (Scott Simpson, Thames Valley) – Pole Vault
Morgan Lake (Robbie Grabarz, Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow) – High Jump
Laura Muir (Steve Vernon, Dundee Hawkhill) – 3000m
Laviai Nielsen (Tony Lester, Enfield and Haringey) – 400m 
Jemma Reekie (Jon Bigg, Kilbarchan) – 800m
Cindy Sember (Chris Johnson, Woodford Green Essex Ladies) – 60m Hurdles
Revee Walcott-Nolan (Thomas Dreißigacker, Luton) – 1500m
4x400m: Hannah Brier (Matt Elias, Swansea), Hannah Kelly (Les Hall, Bolton), Jessie Knight (Marina Armstrong, Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow), Laviai Nielsen (Tony Lester, Enfield and Haringey), Lina Nielsen (Tony Lester, Shaftesbury Barnet) and Ama Pipi (Linford Christie; Enfield & Haringey)

Jeremiah Azu (Marco Airale, Cardiff) – 60m
Callum Elson (Nick Aguila, Cambridge & Coleridge) – 1500m
Adam Fogg (Cory Leslie, Coventry) – 1500m
Josh Kerr (Danny Mackey, Edinburgh) – 3000m
David King (Tim O’Neil, City of Plymouth) – 60m Hurdles
Tade Ojora (Joanna Hayes, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow) – 60m Hurdles

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code
Posted in