Rangers, Celtic and Hearts players shortlisted for PFA Player of the Year

The prestigious award is voted for by Premiership players.

Jack Butland, Lawrence Shankland, Matt O’Riley and James Tavernier nominated for PFA Premiership Player of the Year Jeff Holmes

PFA Scotland have announced the shortlist for the Player of the Year award, with Celtic, Hearts and Rangers stars all in the running.

Hearts striker Lawrence Shankland, Celtic midfielder Matt O’Riley and Rangers duo Jack Butland and James Tavernier have received the most votes from their fellow players and one of them will be named as the best player from this Premiership season.

Shankland has enjoyed a prolific season in front of goal and the Hearts captain has 28 goals across all competitons, with 21 scored in the Premiership.

O’Riley has been at the heart of Brendan Rodgers’ Celtic side as the current champions have pushed to defend the title. The 23-year-old’s 13 goals and 11 assists from midfield have been a huge contribution to his side’s push for the league trophy.

Butland arrived in Glasgow last summer with the formidable task of succeeding Allan McGregor as Rangers goalkeeper. His performances caught the eye as Rangers dragged themselves back into the title race and have seen the 31-year-old touted for an England recall.

His Rangers teammate Tavernier has continued to lead the side through a challenging season and the club’s top scorer has chipped in with 17 goals and eight assists in the league.

The nominations for the Premiership Young Player of the Year have also been announced, with Kilmarnock’s David Watson, Motherwell’s Lennon Miller, Dundee’s Lyall Cameron and Rangers winger Ross McCausland all in the running.

Rangers have two players in the mix for the SWPL1 Player of the Year award, with Rachel Rowe and Kirsty MacLean in contention alongside Celtic’s Amy Gallagher and Hibernian’s Jorian Baucom.

And the SWPL1 Young Player of the Year nominees are Partick Thistle’s Ava Easdon, Bayley Hutchinson from Aberdeen and Rangers duo Kirsty MacLean and Mia McAulay.

All of the prizes will be presented at the PFA’s awards dinner on Sunday.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code