Rangers dominate PFA player of the year shortlist

James Tavernier, Allan McGregor, Steven Davis and Ryan Kent named as contenders.

Rangers dominate PFA player of the year shortlist SNS Group

Rangers have swept the board in the nominations for the PFA Scotland player of the year awards.

Skipper James Tavernier, goalkeeper Allan McGregor, veteran midfielder Steven Davis and wideman Ryan Kent make up the shortlist, as voted for by Scotland’s professionals.

Gers – who are on course to complete the Premiership unbeaten with two games remaining – also have a quartet up for the Scottish Football Writers’ Association award, with defender Connor Goldson replacing Kent in the journalists’ list of contenders.

Davis was previously crowned PFA Scotland Player of the Year in 2010 during his first spell at Ibrox, while Kent was a nominee in 2019, the same year he won the Young Player of the Year award.

Both McGregor and Tavernier have previously appeared in numerous Premiership Teams of the Year.

The winners will be announced this Sunday, May 16.