Kieran Tierney out of Scotland’s Euro 2020 opener

Steve Clarke has named his side to take on Czech Republic at Hampden.

Kieran Tierney out of Scotland’s Euro 2020 opener SNS Group

Steve Clarke has named his starting line-up for Scotland’s first major men’s tournament game in 23 years.

Arsenal’s Kieran Tierney and Celtic midfielder Callum McGregor are missing from the side taking on Czech Republic at Hampden in Monday’s 2pm kick-off.

The starting team is: Marshall, O’Donnell, Robertson, Cooper, Hanley, Hendry, McGinn, McTominay, Armstrong, Christie, Dykes.

Liverpool’s Andy Robertson will captain a team including six players from the English Premier League and three from the Scottish Premiership.

Scotland's players check out the Hampden pitch.SNS Group

Play-off penalty save hero David Marshall starts in goals, with a back three of Jack Hendry, Grant Hanley and Liam Cooper playing in front of him and Motherwell’s Stephen O’Donnell at right back.

John McGinn starts in midfield beside Stuart Armstrong and Scott McTominay with Lyndon Dykes leading the line along with Ryan Christie who will play just behind.

Group rivals England and Croatia played on Sunday with Southgate’s men grabbing a 1-0 win thanks to Raheem Sterling’s goal.

Scotland will be hoping to join England on three points at the top of the group before the sides meet at Wembley on Friday night.

Monday’s game against the Czechs will be their first at a European Championships since their 1-0 win over Switzerland in 1996 and first a major tournament since a 3-0 defeat to Morocco at France 1998.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code