James Keatings cleared to play for ICT in cup final

Scottish FA had faced fierce criticism for previously upholding second yellow card for diving.

James Keatings cleared to play for ICT in cup final SNS

Inverness Caledonian Thistle striker James Keatings has been cleared to play in the Challenge Cup final.

A fresh appeal was heard after a previous verdict that he should face a suspension was overturned.

Keatings was shown a second yellow card for simulation by referee Greg Aitken during his side’s semi-final against Rangers Colts last week.

The subsequent sending-off meant that the player would miss the final against Raith Rovers.

Inverness were adamant that Keatings didn’t dive and appealed against the caution but at a disciplinary hearing, the referee’s original decision was upheld and Keating’s suspension remained in place.

That panel decision drew widespread criticism and Inverness said they were “incredulous and furious”.

Figure within the game said that the decision was evidence that the disciplinary process needed a complete overhaul.

The Scottish FA then said a member of the independent panel that heard the appeal came forward to say he did not review all the evidence before reaching his decision.

The governing body has ruled the decision invalid.