Revived SPFL reserve league announced with host of Premiership sides

A new ten team league and accompanying cup competition will make a return for a select number of SPFL sides this campaign.

Dundee United, Hibs and Motherwell among Premiership clubs to sign up for SPFL reserve league SNS Group

Ten teams will make up the returning SPFL reserve league in the coming season after the competition was revived following a near three-year absence.

The competition was paused during the onset of the Covid pandemic in 2020 and was not played in the 20/21 or 21/22 seasons.

It has now been brought back into existence, though will not feature last season’s cinch Premiership top three after Celtic, Rangers and Hearts opted instead to enter ‘B’ teams in the Lowland League.

Instead, the top flight will be represented by Dundee United, Hibernian, Kilmarnock, Livingston and Motherwell.

Championship representatives Ayr United, Dundee, Hamilton and Queen’s Park are joined by Queen of the South of League One to make up the division – which will play on Tuesday afternoons.

The sides are joined by Dunfermline Athletic and Partick Thistle for the cinch ‘Reserve Cup’.

Clubs will play each other once across the season, with fixtures to be announced on August 2.

The season will kick off from September 6.

SPFL cinch Reserve LeagueSPFL cinch Reserve Cup
Ayr UnitedAyr United
Dundee UnitedDundee United
Hamilton AcademicalDunfermline Athletic
HibernianHamilton Academical
Queen of the SouthMotherwell
Queen’s ParkPartick Thistle
 Queen of the South
 Queen’s Park
STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code