Celtic chief executive Michael Nicholson elected to SPFL board

The Parkhead CEO replaces Rangers' Stewart Robertson as a representative of Premiership sides on the panel.

Celtic CEO Michael Nicholson elected as Rangers’ chief Stewart Robertson’s replacement on SPFL board SNS Group

Celtic chief executive Michael Nicholson has been elected to the SPFL board.

The Parkhead club’s CEO joins Hibernian owner Ron Gordon and Ross County’s James MacDonald as part of the three-man group representing the cinch Premiership.

Nicholson arrives as Rangers’ Stewart Robertson leaves the board having rejoined last year, while Gordon and MacDonald start their second terms.

Les Gray of Hamilton retains his seat for the Championship, where he is joined by Ayr United’s Graeme Mathie.

He replaces Dunfermline’s Ross MacArthur following the Pars’ relegation to the third tier last season.

Leagues One and Two are represented by Alastair Donald of Forfar and Paul Hetherington of Airdrieonians.

All elected members serve alongside SPFL chief executive Neil Doncaster, chairman Murdoch MacLennan and independent non-executive director Karyn McCluskey.

SPFL board elections in full:

cinch Premiership: Michael Nicholson (Celtic), Ron Gordon (Hibernian), James MacDonald (Ross County).       

cinch Championship: Les Gray (Hamilton Academical), Graeme Mathie (Ayr United).     

cinch League 1 and League 2: Alastair Donald (Forfar Athletic), Alternate director – Paul Hetherington (Airdrieonians)

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code