Your guide as recycling centres reopen across Scotland

Council-by-council guide to when you can visit your local recycling centre.

Your guide as recycling centres reopen across Scotland SNS

Household waste recycling centres are reopening across Scotland today.

Councils are opening facilities on a phased basis to help manage demand and ensure extra staff are in place.

Restrictions to maintain physical distancing and appointment-only systems have been implemented in many council areas.

Here is the situation recycling centre situation today at Scotland’s 32 local authorities.

Glasgow City Council – Recycling centres will be open Monday to Friday, 10 am to 4pm each day (last entry 3.45pm). Centres at Dawsholm, Shieldhall, Polmadie and Easter Queenslie are expected to be particularly busy.

Edinburgh City Council – Recycling centres at Seafield, Craigmillar and Sighthill are open on an appointment only basis. You can book here.

Aberdeen City Council – Three sites at at Hazlehead, Bucksburn, and Tullos from 10am to 7.45pm from Monday to Friday, from 9am to 7.45pm on Saturdays and Sundays. The Tullos site is closed on Wednesdays.

Dundee City Council – Baldovie and Riverside recyling centres are open from today – opening hours are 9am to 4pm, Monday to Sunday.

Traffic queuing at Riverside Recycling Centre in Dundee.

Fife Council – Five sites have been assessed as suitable for opening on June 1 – Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Glenrothes, Lochgelly and St.Andrews. Bookings are essential and can be made here.

North Lanarkshire Council – Airdrie, Bellshill, Coatbridge, Cumbernauld and Netherton centres are open Mondays to Saturdays 7am to 6pm and Sundays 7am to 5.30pm. Shotts is open Mondays to Saturdays 8am to 6pm and Sundays 8am to 5.30pm.

South Lanarkshire Council – Recycling centres are reopening today at Eastfield, Carluke, Larkhall, East Kilbride, Strathaven and Hamilton and Blantyre. Opening hours vary. More information can be found here.

Inverclyde Council – Pottery Street recycling centre in Greenock is open from 8am. Kirn Drive will reopen next Monday.

North Ayrshire Council – Bartonholme recycling centre in Irvine is open daily from 8.30am to 4.30pm – extended hours from 8.30am to 6pm on Thursday. Brodick recycling centre on the Isle of Arran is open Monday to Friday from 9am to 3pm and Saturday from 9am to 12 noon. Kilbirnie is scheduled to reopen on June 15 and Largs on June 22.

South Ayrshire Council – Recycling centres at Ayr, Maybole, Girvan and Troon are open with extended opening hours from 8am to 6pm, as well as two pop-up sites in Ayr and Girvan for general black bag waste.

East Ayrshire Council – Recycling centres at Western Road, Kilmarnock and Garlaff, Skares from Monday by appointment only.

Cars entering Dawsholm Recycling Centre in Glasgow.

Argyll and Bute Council – Numerous recycling centers have reopened across the council area including Campbeltown, Oban, Dunoon, Lochgilphead, Tobermory and the Isle of Islay. More informatin can be found here.

West Dunbartonshire Council – Recycling centres at Dalmoak, near Renton, and Ferry Road in Old Kilpatrick are open between 9am and 6pm from Monday to Saturday.

East Dunbartonshire Council – Mavis Valley Household Waste Recycling Centre in Bishopbriggs is now open seven days a week from 8am to 4pm.

Renfrewshire Council – Recycling centres in Paisley, Linwood and Erskine are open from today. Renfrew and Johnstone are set to reopen on Tuesday and Wednesday respectively.

East Renfrewshire Council – Barrhead Recycling Centre has reopened, operating from 10am to 3.30pm Monday to Friday. It will initially be open to residents from a specific East Renfrewshire area each day.

Angus Council – Recycling centres in Arbroath, Forfar, Monifieth and Montrose have reopened on a restricted basis.

Dumfries and Galloway Council – Ten of the twelve recycling sites are re-opening on June 1. Thornhill and Whithorn will remain closed due to traffic management issues on these sites. Individual site timings are available here.

Aberdeenshire Council – Most centres have reopened but visits are strictly by booking only. Alford recycling centre is closed. Further details of opening times are available here.

Falkirk Council – Recycling centres at Roughmute (near Bonnybridge) and Kinneil Kerse near Bo’ness are open seven days a week, from 8am to 6pm.

West Lothian Council – All five recycling centres – Blackburn, Broxburn, Linlithgow, Oakbank and Whitburn – are open seven days a week from 10am to 6pm

East Lothian Council – Recycling centres in Dunbar, North Berwick, Macmerry and Kinwegar, by Wallyford, are open. A one in one out system is in operation. More information available here.

Midlothian Council – Stobhill Recycling Centre in Newtongrange is open daily from 9.30am to 4.15pm. Penicuik Recycling Centre will remain closed for safety reasons.

Clackmannanshire Council – Forthbank Recycling Centre in Alloa is open on an appointment-only basis. More information on opening hours and the appointment system is available here.

Moray Council – Recycling centres in Elgin, Forres, Keith and Buckie are open Monday to Friday from 9am to 4pm and on Sunday from 10am to 3pm.

Highland Council – Recycling centres have reopened in Alness, Aviemore, Brora, Dingwall, Fort William, Gairloch, Inverness, Lochinver, Nairn, Tain, Thurso, Tongue, Ullapool and Wick. Several sites remain closed including Bonar Bridge, Durness, Grantown-On-Spey, Kingussie, Lairg and Portree. Information on opening hours can be found here.

Na h-Eileanan Siar Council – Recycling Centre at Creed has reopened and Rueval Recycling Centre will reopen on June 2 for essential use only. Habost, Urgha, Garrygall, remain closed until further notice

Perth and Kinross Council – All nine recycling centres have reopened. Blairgowrie, Crieff, Friarton, Inveralmond, Kinross and Pitlochry will all be open Monday to Friday 9am to 7pm, and Saturday and Sunday 9am – 5pm.
Aberfeldy, Auchterarder and Bankfoot will be open Tuesday and Thursday 9am – 7pm, and Saturday and Sunday 10am to 5pm.

Stirling Council – Polmaise Recycling Centre near Fallin is open Monday to Friday from 9am-2:30pm and Callander is open Monday to Friday from 5pm-7:30pm).

Scottish Borders Council – Recycling centres have reopened in Duns, Eyemouth, Galashiels, Hawick, Peebles (Eshiels), Selkirk and Kelso. More information is available here.

Orkney Council – There are five recycling centres on the Orkney Mainland – Bossack in Tankerness, Cursiter Quarry in Firth, Garson Industrial Estate in Stromness, Hatston Industrial Estate, Crowness Crescent, Kirkwall and St Margaret’s Hope. Information on opening hours will follow here. One type of material is being collected each week. Plastic bottles are being collected week commencing Monday June 1.

Shetland Council – Gremista Waste Management Facility in Lerwick is open Monday to Friday from 8am to 8pm.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code