Scottish areas vying to win city status for Queen’s Platinum Jubilee

Eight Scottish areas are vying for city status at the celebrations next year.

Scottish areas vying to win city status for Queen’s Platinum Jubilee iStock

Dunfermline and Greenock are among eight Scottish areas vying to win city status with 31 others as part of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

The Fife and Renfrewshire towns are joined by Dumfries, Elgin, Livingston, Oban, St Andrews and South Ayrshire in the short list.

The competition is part of royal celebrations marking the Queen’s 70-year reign on throne and will kick off a special four-day bank holiday weekend set to start on Thursday June 2.

Twenty-two English areas are in the running with three entries from Northern Ireland, one from Wales and, for the first time ever, British Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies were also eligible to apply for the title.

Stanley in the Falkland Islands, almost 8000 miles away, is one of the places to make the short list, and there are also entries from George Town in the Cayman Islands and Gibraltar.

The event will also see two Scottish cities compete with ten others for Lord Provost or Lord Mayor status.

Perth and Inverness will be taking on cities such as Sunderland in England and Newport in Wales for the honour.

According to the Cabinet Office, winning city status can provide a boost to local communities and open up new opportunities for people who live there.

As part of their bids, applicants were asked to talk about the distinct identity and community which they feel means their area deserves to become a city, as well as evidence of links to royalty.

Unlike previous Civic Honours competitions, an expert panel will work closely with ministers to make their recommendations, which will then be approved by the Queen.

The final decision will be taken in spring 2022 and announced shortly afterwards.

List of places which applied for city status:

Alcester, Warwickshire

Ballymena, County Antrim

Bangor, County Down

Blackburn, Lancashire

Bolsover, Derbyshire

Boston, Lincolnshire

Bournemouth, Dorset

Coleraine, County Londonderry

Colchester, Essex

Crawley, West Sussex

Crewe, Cheshire

Doncaster, South Yorkshire

Dorchester, Dorset

Douglas, Isle of Man

Dudley, West Midlands

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway

Dunfermline, Fife

Elgin, Moray

George Town, Cayman Islands

Gibraltar, Gibraltar

Goole, East Yorkshire

Greenock, Renfrewshire

Guildford, Surrey

Livingston, West Lothian

Marazion, Cornwall

Medway, Kent

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Newport and Carisbrooke, Hampshire

Northampton, Northamptonshire

Oban, Argyll and Bute

Reading, Berkshire

Peel, Isle of Man

St Andrews, Fife

Stanley, Falkland Islands

South Ayrshire, Ayrshire and Arran

Warrington, Cheshire

Warwick, Warwickshire

Wrexham, Clwyd

List of cities which applied for Lord Provost/Lord Mayor status:

Bath, Somerset

Derby, Derbyshire

Gloucester, Gloucestershire

Inverness, Inverness

Lancaster, Lancashire

Lincoln, Lincolnshire

Newport, Gwent

Perth, Perth and Kinross

Southampton, Hampshire

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear

Wolverhampton, West Midlands

Worcester, Worcestershire

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code