Why has Scotland lost two MPs and has my constituency changed?

Scotland is losing two MPs at the upcoming election following a boundary review that will change all but nine constituencies.

General Election: Why has Scotland lost two MPs and has my constituency changed? STV News

Scotland is set to lose two MPs amid the biggest shake-up to the nation’s constituency boundaries for nearly 20 years.

Since 2005, Scotland has had 59 seats in the House of Commons (down from 72 before that) but from the July 4 general election that number will fall to 57.

A new electoral map across Scotland means only nine constituencies will remain unchanged.

The others may be renamed (sometimes in minor ways such as East Lothian changing to Lothian East) while other areas may swallow up entire towns (the constituency of Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross will now include Dingwall and Ullapool).

Why are the constituencies changing?

Every few years, constituencies across the UK are reviewed by an independent commission to ensure all MPs represent a similar number of constituents.

Each voting area should contain around 73,393 constituents, give or take 5%, with some exceptions for areas larger than 12,000 square kilometres.

That means as the population changes throughout the UK new constituencies may have to be made to ensure everyone is represented equally.

The number of MPs at Westminster will remain at 650.iStock

Because England’s population, particularly in the south, is growing at a faster rate than other parts of the country, it will gain ten new MPs.

Scotland is losing two because its population relative to the rest of the UK has diminished.

Wales is the most impacted by the most recent review, with the country losing eight MPs, from 40 to 32. Northern Ireland’s MPs remain unchanged at 18.

Which two constituencies were abolished?

Some constituencies will see more drastic changes than others.

Glasgow Central is one of the seats being completely abolished in Scotland. If this is your constituency, your new area will depend on where you live.

Some 44.6% of Glasgow Central’s population will now vote under the Glasgow East ward. The other half will be split between the surrounding constituencies.

More than 44% of Glasgow Central constituents will be moved into the Glasgow East ward.Boundary Commission for Scotland

Ochil and South Perthshire is another Scottish constituency to be completely abolished with 44.7% of the area’s current residents being incorporated into the new Alloa and Grangemouth seat, and the rest being spread out to the surrounding areas.

Where are the nine constituencies not changing?

Only nine constituencies in Scotland will remain unchanged. Two of these, Na h-Eileanan an Iar and Orkney and Shetland, are protected by law and cannot be changed.

The other constituencies that remain unchanged are: 

  • Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock 
  • Central Ayrshire 
  • East Renfrewshire 
  • Kilmarnock and Loudoun 
  • Midlothian 
  • North Ayrshire and Arran 
  • West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine

Where can I find my constituency?

If you are unsure where your new constituency is, you can use the Electoral Commission’s election lookup tool.

Just type in your postcode and it’ll tell you your constituency and who is running.

You can find the Electoral Commission’s website here.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code
Posted in