Full list of council buildings containing dangerous concrete revealed

Local authorities have published the list of buildings containing reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete (RAAC).

Full list of council buildings containing dangerous RAAC concrete revealed STV News

A total of 16 local authorities across Scotland have identified schools and community buildings as containing potentially dangerous concrete.

Councils have been carrying out inspections of school buildings to identify the presence of reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete (RAAC).

The schools currently impacted are in the following council areas: 

  • Aberdeen City
  • Aberdeenshire
  • Argyll and Bute
  • City of Edinburgh
  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • Dundee City
  • East Ayrshire
  • East Lothian
  • Glasgow City
  • Highland
  • Inverclyde
  • Moray
  • North Ayrshire
  • North Lanarkshire
  • Perth and Kinross
  • West Lothian

Education secretary Jenny Gilruth said: “The Scottish Government has been actively engaging with local authority partners, who have statutory responsibility for school buildings in Scotland, for some time.  

“It is important that there is transparency around the schools where RAAC has been identified and mitigations in place. Local authorities were asked to publish by today the data relating to impacted schools in their area given the seriousness of this issue and to ensure this data is freely available.”

She added: “I hope this provides reassurance to parents, carers, staff and pupils who may be concerned about the presence of RAAC in their learning facilities. I also expect the local authorities still to publish to do so as a matter of urgency. 

“Currently half of Scotland’s local authorities have identified RAAC in schools.  COSLA has confirmed that safety is their central consideration and that there is robust guidance that is followed by every local authority to ensure that those buildings are safe to be in for pupils, staff and the public. This is in line with the existing guidance from the Institution of Structural Engineers who have advised us they do not believe there is sufficient grounds to update their advice.”

Aberdeen City

  • Abbotswell Primary
  • Cornhill Primary
  • Hazlehead Academy
  • Northfield Academy
  • Quarryhill Primary School
  • St Machar Academy
  • Westpark School
  • Hazlehead swimming pool (closed)
  • Town House extension


  • Mackie Academy
  • Westhill Academy

City of Edinburgh

  • Colinton Primary School
  • Cramond Primary School
  • Currie Community High School
  • Fox Covert/St Andrew’s RC Primary School
  • Lorne Primary School
  • Pentland Primary School
  • Trinity Academy swimming pool
  • Trinity Primary School

Dumfries and Galloway

  • Laurieknowe Primary School, Dumfries
  • Carrutherstown Primary School, Nithsdale
  • Gatehouse Primary School, Gatehouse of Fleet
  • Dumfries Academy, Dumfries

Dundee City

  • St Fergus
  • Ardler Primary Schools.

East Ayrshire

  • A plant room that is separate to Crosshouse Early Childhood Centre
  • A plant room that is separate to Hurlford Community Centre
  • A council bothy within Kilmarnock Cemetery

East Lothian

  • Preston Lodge High School
  • Brunton Hall in Musselburgh
  • North Berwick Sports Centre
  •  St Joseph’s School

Glasgow City

  • Whitehill Secondary


  • Charleston Academy
  • Nairn Academy

North Ayrshire

  • Ardrossan Academy

North Lanarkshire

  • Ravenswood Primary School
  • Pivot Community Facility

Perth and Kinross

  • Perth Grammar School

West Lothian

  • Knightsridge Primary School
  • Balbardie Primary School
  • Windyknowe Primary School
  • Riverside Primary School
  • St Kentigern’s Academy

At the time of reporting, Argyll & Bute, Inverclyde and Moray were yet to announce details.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code