Five candidates remain in Conservative Party leadership contest

Rishi Sunak and Penny Mordaunt are leading the race to become the next prime minister.

Suella Braverman knocked out of Conservative Party leadership contest as five candidates remain STV NewsFlickr

Rishi Sunak and Penny Mordaunt remain at the front of the pack in the contest to become the next Conservative leader.

The former chancellor picked up 101 votes in the second round of the contest on Thursday.

Mordaunt, who has been minister of state for trade policy since September 2021, won 83 votes.

They were followed by foreign secretary Liz Truss (64), former local government minister Kemi Badenoch (49) and Foreign Affairs Committee chair Tom Tugendhat (32).

Suella Braverman, the attorney general for England and Wales, was knocked out of the contest after picking up the fewest votes (27) in the latest round.

She joins former health secretary Jeremy Hunt and chancellor Nadhim Zahawi, who were eliminated from the leadership race on Wednesday.

The next round of voting is due to take place on Monday, with subsequent rounds if required until there are only two candidates left.

They will then compete to win the support of Conservative Party members.

The next prime minister of the UK will then be announced on September 5.

The current officer-holder, Boris Johnson, will then formally tender his resignation to the Queen in order to make way for his successor the following day.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code