Slovenia and Guadeloupe added to 14-day quarantine list

Travellers arriving in Scotland from Slovenia and Guadeloupe will have to self-isolate.

Slovenia and Guadeloupe added to 14-day quarantine list SNS Group

Slovenia and Guadeloupe are the latest countries to be added to Scotland’s 14-day quarantine list due to a rise in coronavirus cases.

From 4am on Saturday travellers from both nations will be required to self isolate on arrival in Scotland.

But the Scottish Government announced that Singapore and Thailand will be added to the list of countries exempt from quarantine.

Justice secretary Humza Yousaf said: “Managing the risk of importing cases from communities with high risks of transmission is vital in our efforts to suppress the spread of the virus in Scotland and imposing quarantine restrictions on those arriving in the UK is our first defence.

“We continue to closely monitor the situation in all parts of the world and base the decisions we make on the scientific evidence available. We are also in regular discussions with the other three governments in the UK. More details about what the quarantine requirements mean can be found on the Scottish Government website.

“Wherever somebody has travelled from – whether an exempt country or not – it remains a legal requirement to complete a Passenger Locator Form and provide it to Border Force officials. Failure to do so can also result in a fine since this, along with any failure to self-isolate where required, poses a significant risk to wider public health across Scotland.

“We are in the midst of a global pandemic and the situation in many countries can change suddenly. Therefore, people should think very hard before committing to non-essential travel abroad.”

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code