Scottish Greens to keep roles as Humza Yousaf confirms full cabinet

Lorna Slater and Patrick Harvie, the Scottish Green co-conveners, have each been reappointed to their Scottish Government roles by Humza Yousaf.

Scottish Greens co-leaders Lorna Slater and Patrick Harvie to keep roles, confirms Humza Yousaf Scottish Greens

The co-leaders of the Scottish Green Party have been re-appointed to government, following newly elected First Minister Humza Yousaf confirming his full cabinet.

Lorna Slater MSP will continue as minister for green skills, circular economy and biodiversity.

Meanwhile, Patrick Harvie MSO will remain in post as minister for zero carbon buildings, active travel and tenants’ rights.

Both Harvie and Slater were first appointed to their ministerial roles in 2021 as part of the Bute House Agreement which saw the Greens enter government with the SNP.

The news was confirmed as new First Minister Yousaf confirmed his full cabinet on Wednesday.

First Minister Humza Yousaf with his new cabinet outside Bute House.STV News

Among the announcements, deputy first minister Shona Robison has been appointed finance secretary, taking over from Kate Forbes.

Michael Matheson will take over from Humza Yousaf as health secretary while Jenny Gilruth has become education secretary.

The role of the Scottish Greens was confirmed on Wednesday evening.

Scottish Greens co-leader, Slater, said: “I am delighted that we are at the forefront of delivering the green change that is so vital.

“I have been proud to oversee record funding for wildlife and nature, as well as an end to new incinerators, vital steps towards delivering our ground-breaking Deposit Return Scheme, a new national park and a Circular Economy Bill, and transformative investments in recycling services across Scotland.”  

“But our work is only just getting started. I am looking forward to working with Humza Yousaf and the rest of the team to build on these successes and deliver even more for the people of Scotland and our environment.”

Harvie added: “In my first 18 months as a minister I have published a New Deal for Tenants, which will deliver rent controls and new rights, on top of emergency protection for tenants. 

“I have overseen two years of record funding for walking, wheeling and cycling, with much more to come. And I have set in motion the biggest ever programme to transform the way we heat and insulate our homes and buildings.   

“So I am delighted to be able to build on this work as a minister, making sure it delivers the benefits for people and for planet that we so urgently need. I look forward to working with our First Minister and my new ministerial colleagues to build that fairer, greener Scotland.”

Yousaf’s cabinet of 10 will be supported by 18 junior ministers.

Parliament will be asked to approve the new Ministerial appointments on Thursday.

The full cabinet consists of:

  • First Minister Humza Yousaf
  • Minister for drugs and alcohol policy Elena Whitham
  • Minister for independence Jamie Hepburn
  • Minister for cabinet and parliamentary business George Adam
  • Deputy first minister and cabinet secretary for Finance Shona Robison
  • Minister for community wealth and public finance Tom Arthur
  • Minister for local government empowerment and planning Joe FitzPatrick
  • Cabinet secretary for NHS recovery, health and social care Michael Matheson
  • Minister for public health and women’s health Jenni Minto
  • Minister for social care, mental wellbeing and sport Maree Todd
  • Cabinet secretary for education and skills Jenny Gilruth
  • Minister for children, young people and keeping the promise Natalie Don
  • Minister for higher and further education; and minister for veterans Graeme Dey
  • Cabinet secretary for net zero and just transition Màiri McAllan
  • Minister for transport Kevin Stewart
  • Cabinet secretary for wellbeing economy, fair work and energy Neil Gray
  • Minister for small business, innovation and trade Richard Lochhead
  • Minister for energy Gillian Martin
  • Minister for green skills, circular economy and biodiversity (who will also work alongside the cabinet secretary for net zero and just transition) Lorna Slater
  • Minister for zero carbon buildings, active travel and tenants’ rights (who will also work alongside the cabinet secretary for social justice) Patrick Harvie
  • Cabinet secretary for rural affairs, land reform and islands Mairi Gougeon
  • Cabinet secretary for constitution, external affairs and culture Angus Robertson
  • Minister for culture, Europe and international development Christina McKelvie
  • Cabinet Secretary for social justice Shirley-Anne Somerville
  • Minister for equalities, migration and refugees Emma Roddick
  • Minister for housing Paul McLennan
  • Cabinet secretary for justice and home affairs, Angela Constance
  • Minister for victims and community safety Siobhian Brown
STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code