Pressure as 14 Tories call for Truss to go with '12 hours to save job'

The Prime Minister is facing calls to resign from a mounting number of Conservative backbenchers.

Prime Minister Liz Truss faces calls to resign after another chaotic day in Westminster UK Parliament

Latest updates:

  • Downing Street said Liz Truss acknowledged it had been a “difficult day” in her premiership on Wednesday amid chaotic scenes in the Commons
  • Truss is currently meeting with the chair of the 1922 Committee of backbench Conservatives Sir Graham Brady, Downing Street has said
  • Conservative MP Matthew Offord is the latest to call for the Prime Minister to go
  • 14 Tory MPs have called for Liz Truss to go on Thursday morning
  • An investigation has been launched by parliamentary authorities at Westminster into allegations of bullying

Liz Truss is facing mounting pressure following another chaotic day at Westminster.

It comes after Suella Braverman’s departure as home secretary and frantic scenes in Parliament.

During a vote on fracking vote in the Commons, Conservative MPs were allegedly manhandled and bullied into voting against Labour’s motion.

An investigation has now been launched by parliamentary authorities at Westminster into the allegations.

On Thursday morning, senior Conservative backbencher Simon Hoare, was unable to say whether the country has a functioning government.

He also suggested that Truss has “about 12 hours” in which the turn the situation around.

“I think today and tomorrow are crunch days,” he added.

A senior Tory backbencher, Sir Charles Walker, described events in the Commons on Wednesday as an “absolute disgrace”.

Following the vote, he told BBC News: “To be perfectly honest, this whole affair is inexcusable.

“It is a pitiful reflection on the Conservative Parliamentary Party as every level and it reflects really badly, obviously, on the government of the day.”

On a day of chaos and confusion, Conservative MPs were told that the fracking vote was a vote of confidence in Truss’ government.

Minister Graham Stuart then stated in the Commons that, contrary to what they had been told, it was not being treated as a vote of confidence.

However, in a message circulated at around 1.30am on Thursday, MPs were then informed that the minister was told “mistakenly” by Downing Street so say that it was not a confidence vote.

They were then told that the vote was subject to a three-line whip and that whips would be speaking to those MPs who failed to support the government.

MPs without a “reasonable excuse” for failing to support the government can “expect proportionate disciplinary action”, they were told.

Which Tory MPs are calling for Truss to go?

As of 11am on Thursday, 14 Tory MPs have called for Truss to go or do not see her leading the party into the next election.

  • Crispin Blunt
  • Andrew Bridgen
  • Jamie Wallis
  • Angela Richardson
  • Sir Charles Walker
  • William Wragg
  • Johnny Mercer
  • Maria Caulfield
  • Steve Double
  • Gary Streeter
  • Sheryll Murray
  • Henry Smith
  • Miriam Cates
  • Matthew Offord
STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code