Lord Cameron resigns as Rishi Sunak names interim shadow cabinet

The Tories have named their opposition frontbench who will lead them into the new Parliament.

Lord David Cameron resigns as Rishi Sunak names interim shadow cabinet PA Media

Former prime minister Lord Cameron does not feature in the interim shadow cabinet, the Conservative Party has confirmed.

Suffering a net loss of 251 MPs in last week’s General Election, the Tories have named their opposition frontbench who will lead them into the new Parliament.

The party confirmed in a statement that Lord Cameron, who was foreign secretary in the outgoing government, and party chairman Richard Holden had offered their resignations, and Rishi Sunak had accepted.

Lord Cameron led the Conservative Party into power 14 years ago, securing 306 seats in the 2010 election and a coalition with the 57-strong Liberal Democrats.

Former deputy foreign secretary Andrew Mitchell has become the shadow foreign secretary while Richard Fuller, who represents North Bedfordshire, has been named party chairman.

“United as a party we will be ready and able to hold this new Labour government to account every step of the way,” Fuller said in a statement.

“The Conservative Party has had a difficult election and it is important that we regroup and reflect on these results.

“We should also challenge ourselves candidly and deeply on the strengths of the Conservative Party across the country and outline where improvements can be made.

“I am honoured to be asked to act as interim chairman of the Conservative Party and to be working alongside colleagues in the shadow cabinet.”

Several senior Tories lost their seats in last week’s poll.

Among them were former defence secretary Grant Shapps and former Commons leader Penny Mordaunt, who lost their seats to Labour candidates in Welwyn Hatfield and Portsmouth North.

Ex-education secretary Gillian Keegan and former justice secretary Alex Chalk also lost their seats in Chichester and Cheltenham to the Liberal Democrats.

Conservative Party leader Rishi Sunak and interim opposition chief whip Stuart Andrew, a former sports and gambling minister, appointed their party’s new top team.

Among the new line-up shadowing their former posts are Oliver Dowden, now as deputy leader of the opposition, Jeremy Hunt as shadow chancellor, James Cleverly as shadow home secretary, and Victoria Atkins as shadow health secretary.

Claire Coutinho has kept her energy security and net zero portfolio in opposition, as have Steve Barclay (environment, food and rural affairs) and Mel Stride (work and pensions).

Kemi Badenoch has taken on Michael Gove’s former levelling up, housing and communities brief.

Her former portfolios have gone to Kevin Hollinrake (business and trade) and Mims Davies (women and equalities).

The top team also includes James Cartlidge as shadow defence secretary, Ed Argar as shadow justice, Andrew Griffith as shadow science innovation and technology, Chris Philp as shadow Commons leader, former schools minister Damian Hinds as shadow education secretary, Helen Whately as shadow transport and Julia Lopez as shadow culture media and sport.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code
Posted in