Jeremy Hunt and Nadhim Zahawi eliminated from Tory leadership contest

The newly-appointed chancellor and former health secretary failed to gain enough votes to progress to the next round.

Jeremy Hunt and Nadhim Zahawi eliminated from Conservative leadership contest STV NewsFlickr

Jeremy Hunt and Nadhim Zahawi have been eliminated from the Conservative leadership contest.

The pair were knocked out in the first round of voting by the party’s MPs on Wednesday.

Rishi Sunak topped the ballot with 88 votes, followed by Penny Mordaunt (67), Liz Truss (50), Kemi Badenoch (40), Tom Tugendhat (37) and Suella Braverman (32).

Candidates required a minimum of 30 votes in order to reach the next stage of the contest.

Zahawi, who was appointed as chancellor last week, picked up 25 votes.

Former health secretary Hunt, who finished second in the leadership contest to Boris Johnson in 2019, gained 18 votes.

The next prime minister is due to be announced on September 5.

Johnson made what could be his final appearance at PMQs on Wednesday, having hinted that he may not be in place for the final session next week.

MPs will go on summer recess from Westminster on July 21.

The Prime Minister defended his record in government having faced questions from Keir Starmer.

“It’s perfectly true that I leave not at a time of my choosing, absolutely true,” said Johnson.

“But I am proud of the fantastic teamwork that has been involved in all of those projects both nationally and internationally.

“And I’m also proud of the leadership that I have given and I will be leaving soon with my head held high.”

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code