Current Location

Fetching weather...

Ian Blackford elected as SNP's new Westminster leader

The position became vacant after Angus Robertson failed to hold his Moray seat.

Ian Blackford: The SNP politican has been an MP for two years. PA

Ian Blackford has been elected to replace Angus Robertson as the SNP’s leader at Westminster.

The role became vacant after Robertson lost his Moray seat at the general election on Thursday.

Blackford has been an MP for Ross, Skye and Lochaber for the past two years.

He was chosen by his fellow SNP MPs for the role in a ballot with Joanna Cherry and Drew Hendry.

Aberdeen North MP Kirsty Blackman has been elected as the group’s deputy leader at Westminster.

Blackford will now question Theresa May at Prime Minister’s Questions on behalf of the party.

He said: “It is an honour and a privilege to be elected to lead the SNP’s strong and talented team of MPs during such a crucial period.

“As Scotland’s leading party at Westminster, and the third party across the UK, the SNP has a huge opportunity in this parliament to stand up for Scotland’s interests.”

Party leader Nicola Sturgeon said: “I’m delighted to see Ian Blackford elected as leader of the SNP’s Westminster Group.

“Ian has formidable professional and political experience and has played a key role in the last two years as part of the effective opposition to the Tory government.”

You're up to date

You've read today's top stories. Where would you like to go next?