Oscars 2024: Full list of winners including Poor Things and Oppenheimer

Oppenheimer swept the Academy Awards with seven gongs.

The 2024 Oscars clocked up a number of historic firsts and achievements – as well as missing a couple of opportunities to break new ground.

Topping the bill was British filmmaker Christopher Nolan, who ended his 22-year wait for an Academy Award.

Nolan was first nominated back in 2002, for best original screenplay for Memento, and again in 2011 in the same category for Inception, but on both occasions he came away empty-handed.

Nolan’s film was responsible for two more Oscar firsts.

Cillian Murphy, who played the title role of J Robert Oppenheimer – the American physicist who helped develop the atomic bomb – was named best actor, the first Irish winner of this award.

Robert Downey Jr also picked up his first Oscar when he won best supporting actor for his role in the film as Lewis Strauss.

Downey Jr had been waiting for an Academy Award for even longer than Nolan, having received his first acting nomination in 1993 for Chaplin.

Da’Vine Joy Randolph was the only non-white winner in any of the acting categories, taking best supporting actress for her role in The Holdovers.

Da’Vine Joy Randolph won the award for best performance by an actress in a supporting role for The Holdovers (Photo by Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP) PA Media

Her success bolsters the reputation of the category for being the most diverse of all the acting Oscars with nine of the winners in the past 20 years coming from an ethnic minority background.

The full list of winners for the 2024 Academy Awards is as follows:

Best picture – Oppenheimer’s Christopher Nolan, Charles Roven and Emma Thomas

Best directing – Oppenheimer’s Christopher Nolan

Best supporting actress – The Holdovers’ Da’Vine Joy Randolph

Best supporting actor – Oppenheimer’s Robert Downey Jr

Best actor – Oppenheimer’s Cillian Murphy

Best actress – Poor Things’ Emma Stone

Documentary feature film – 20 Days In Mariupol’s Mstyslav Chernov, Raney Aronson Rath, Michelle Mizner

Documentary short film – The Last Repair Shop

Animated feature film – The Boy And The Heron’s Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki

Animated short – War Is Over! Inspired By The Music Of John & Yoko’s Dave Mullins, Brad Booker and Sean Ono Lennon

Live action short film – The Wonderful Story Of Henry Sugar’s Wes Anderson and Steven Rales

Original screenplay – Anatomy Of A Fall’s Justine Triet and Arthur Harari

Adapted screenplay – American Fiction’s Cord Jefferson

Music (original score) – Oppenheimer’s Ludwig Goransson

Music (original song) – Barbie’s Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell for What Was I Made For?

Film editing – Oppenheimer’s Jennifer Lame

Production design – Poor Things’ Shona Heath, James Price and Zsuzsa Mihalek

Costume design – Poor Things’ Holly Waddington

Makeup and hairstyling – Poor Things’ Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier and Josh Weston

Sound – The Zone Of Interest’s Johnnie Burn and Tarn Willers

Cinematography – Oppenheimer’s Hoyte van Hoytema

International Feature Film – The Zone Of Interest’s Jonathan Glazer for the UK

Visual effects – Godzilla Minus One’s Takashi Yamazaki, Kiyoko Shibuya, Masaki Takahashi and Tatsuji Nojima

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code
Posted in