Liam McIlvanney nominated for crime fiction award named after dad

The writer has been nominated for the prize after initially scooping the accolade in 2018.

Liam McIlvanney nominated for crime writing award named in memory of dad William Bloody Scotland

Author Liam McIlvanney has been nominated for the crime fiction award named in memory of his father four years after first scooping the accolade.

The shortlist for the McIlvanney Prize, named after tartan noir giant William, also features Louise Welsh for her novel Second Cut alongside Alan Parks and Ambrose Parry.

McIlvanney received his nomination for The Heretic, which judges described as a “masterful rendering of a richly layered plot” and a “warts and all tale with memorable characters and a great setting”.

The novel is his fourth book and the first since 2018’s The Quaker – which also won the award.

Welsh’s follow up to the critically acclaimed 2002 novel The Cutting Room “delivers an edgy glimpse into the underbelly of 21st century Glasgow,” according to the panel, who also praised the “witty and sordid” return of central character Rilke.

Meanwhile, judges described Parry’s work, A Corruption of Blood, as “a real slow burner of a novel which is a marvellous tale of murder and deception in Victorian Edinburgh” and Parks’ May God Forgive as “painting a dark and mesmerising portrait of 1970s Glasgow”.

Previous winners of the award include the likes of Craig Russell, Denise Mina, Chris Brookmyre and Peter May.

The winner will be announced in Stirling on September 15 at the Bloody Scotland festival, which is celebrating its 10th anniversary year.

STV News is now on WhatsApp

Get all the latest news from around the country

Follow STV News
Follow STV News on WhatsApp

Scan the QR code on your mobile device for all the latest news from around the country

WhatsApp channel QR Code